Robbers Fire

Living in California brings the risk of fires and earthquakes along with other dangers. It has been years since I’ve been so close to a forest fire and 25.5 years since the last time I was personally impacted by a fire.

I was five and it was Christmas day. My mom, brother, and I were all over at my grandma’s house when we received a phone call that our house was on fire. That day has stayed with me and I know that it will continue to always have an impact on my life. The holiday season is stressful enough, but in the back of my mind, I worry about Christmas tree lights being left on, the flammability of those darn trees, and what it’s like to loose everything, pets included, in what feels like, the blink of an eye.

On July 11th the Robbers Fire was started in steep forested land between Colfax and Foresthill. It has now been put out, but it has left behind an estimated $13 billion in damage, five burned buildings, and a dozen firefighters injured, not to mention approximately 2650 acres burned. The details are not fully known at this point but a suspect has been arrested. I find it impossible to understand how someone could do something like this.

It’s out now and I would like to thank the men and women who battled this fire in what I know were really hard conditions… 100+ degree temperatures, really steep canyons, heavily forested land. Without you others could have lost their homes, their pets, their lives. So thank you. Thank you more than you can imagine.

Cheers-

Susan

Leave a Reply

