Morning Runs

There’s something so peaceful about an early morning run on weekend morning, especially when you’re the only one out there and have the roads or trails all to yourself. On occasion you have to switch it up and try new paths and that’s what we did a few weeks ago.We jumped in the truck and headed to Empire Mine for a nice slow run along their trails. I even managed to discover something new. This little cabin. I think I’m in love. I think a cabin in the woods might be in my future…maybe in a few years. It can be my occasional escape from my future city life and I think I’d like some snow. Some boarding is definitely in my future along with snowshoeing.

Sorry, I digress. What were we talking about?

Oh, right, Empire Mine. It’s a California State Historic Park and they have quite a few trails which allow dogs and horses. Score! But what most people come for is the mine itself along with the main grounds. I have photos around here somewhere. I guess I’ll just have to do another post in the future about the main grounds because their beautiful. Until then here’s a little bit of info on Empire Mine:

“The Empire Mine is the site of the oldest, largest, and richest gold mine in California. From 1850 to its closing in 1956, it produced 5.8 million ounces of gold.This 5.8 million ounces of gold would fill a box 7 feet on each side. It is estimated that this represented only 20% of the available gold…80% remains. The Park contains many of the original mine buildings, the owners cottage and the restored gardens and grounds as well as the entrance to 367 miles (the equivalent of a round trip from Grass Valley to San Jose) of abandoned and flooded shafts and tunnels. The park consists of 845 acres of forested back country and 12 miles of trails for hikers, bikers and horseback riders.” Source: empiremine.org

What’s you’re favorite weekend morning run?

Leave a Reply

