Cognac Mustard

Today’s the day. I’m getting started on a new plan. One that involves trying new recipes. There are several items on today agenda but one of them is mustard. I’ve never made mustard before, so I figured I’d give it a go. Instead of attempting it alone I did hit up a few friends and my mom and she hit up a couple of her friends. Low and behold, no one has made it. Thankfully there is Google. It helped me with my thesis in college so it can handle a simple request like mustard recipes. The only thing I had to do was find one that sounded like it would be tasty.

I settled on Cognac Mustard from Sunset.com. It looks totally do able and all I had to do was track down the mustard seeds this morning. Totally easy! Just made a slight detour to take the girls to the dog park so they could play with their friends first. Oh, and to get my hair cut, but I digress. Back to the mustard.

Ingredients:

  • 6 tablespoons yellow mustard seeds
  • 2 tablespoons brown mustard seeds
  • 3 tablespoons cognac
  • 2/3 cup white wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Preparation:

  1. Put mustard seeds, 1/3 cup water, cognac, and vinegar in a bowl and stir to completely submerge seeds. Cover and let sit at room temperature 2 to 3 days.
  2. Whirl mustard mixture in a blender with brown sugar and salt until smooth.

So far, I’ve made it to the cover and let sit at room temperature portion. I’ll report back in a few days and let you know how it turns out. I’m really hoping it good as I’m craving soft and chewy pretzels,another thing I’ve never made, and am working on.

Cheers-

Susan

 

Leave a Reply

