Seasonal Produce – March

Ever have one of those days when you go into the grocery store and notice that practically everything seems to have come from another state or country when you’re in the produce section? I find it rather annoying. I mean, really, we live in California and the amount of produce we grow here is staggering. Is it all just leaving the state and we get left with what’s being brought in? Seems counter productive if you ask me. And don’t even get me started on the whole what’s fresh or in season. We could be here awhile.

I’m going to start going the farmer’s market more regularly. There are a couple that are close to where I work and live and if I’m feeling adventurous, I can always pop into Santa Monica and hit up their larger markets when the mood strikes. The problem with larger markets is that I have little self control and end up wanting to buy everything because it looks so amazing. I just can’t eat it fast enough. I know, life’s rough.

I thought I’d take a moment at the beginning of each month and review what should be in season so that I can try and tailor my meals to what will be the most fresh. Mind you I have been doing this for years with things like tomatoes, mangoes, citrus, etc. but I want to take it up a notch and incorporate some things I’ve never tried before like collards. Yep, I’ve never made them myself so I feel like I should try them out.

So what’s in season for March?

  • Asparagus
  • Avocados
  • Beets
  • Broccoli
  • Cabbage
  • Carrots
  • Cauliflower
  • Celery
  • Chard
  • Citrus: Blood Oranges, Grapefruits, Kumquats, Lemons, Navel Oranges, Tangelos/Tangerines
  • Collards
  • Dates, Medjool
  • Kale
  • Kohlrabi
  • Lettuce
  • Mushroom
  • Mustard
  • Onion, Green
  • Passion Fruit
  • Peas, Green
  • Spinach
  • Strawberries
  • Turnips

What sort of recipes do you have planned with seasonal produce?

Cheers-

Susan

Leave a Reply

