Vanilla Bean Pound Cake

After I made up a batch of Vanilla & Honey Kumquat Marmalade I felt I might need a little something to spread it on. But what to choose? Let’s just say it wasn’t easy but I finally decided on a simple pound cake and I’m glad I did. This is good. Dangerously good. I can’t stop myself. Someone needs to come and help me eat this before I devour the entire thing along with all the marmalade.

Vanilla Bean Pound Cake

Ingredients:

1 c. butter

1 c. sugar

3 large eggs

1 vanilla bean

2 c. flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 c. plain yogurt

Preparation:

Preheat over to 325°. Grease and flour a 9 x 5 loafpan.

Beat butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, and then split vanilla bean and scrap seeds into the bowl and stir until blended. Add yogurt and stir until blended.

Combine dry ingredients together and then slowly add them to mixture.

Pour batter into prepared pan and pop it into the over for 50-60 minutes or until a wooden pick, aka toothpick, inserted in center comes out clean. Let cool in the pan for about 10 minutes and then transfer to wire rack. Store wrapped in wax paper if it lasts that long.

Serve with any remaining Vanilla & Honey Kumquat Marmalade.

Cheers-

Susan

Leave a Reply

