Corn Cakes Topped with Flank Steak

To be honest, I sometimes get in a rut. Its a habit I’m trying to break. I’m on this whole kick of trying new things and keeping an open mind. With that in mind, I’m not a huge red meat kind of girl but occasionally I just can’t help myself. I ended up getting a large piece of flank steak at the grocery store the other day and it has allowed me to play around with different recipes without getting bored with the “same ol’ thing” which I have been known to do in the past. I once made a huge pot of chili and it took me a couple of weeks to eat through it only to make it again. It was really good but I totally maxed out on chili. I still haven’t fully recovered. Anyway, I played around with a couple of steak recipes so you’ll see several posts over the next week or so with them. They we good.

I probably should have used a larger piece of flank steak for this recipe as I ended up with with more corn cakes than I knew what to do with. I did however just heat them up and top them with random things I had in the fridge. Sour cream and salsa, anyone? If there is one thing that I would do differently, I would grill the steak. But in order to do that I need to get myself a BBQ. So if anyone wants to get me a belated birthday present, a little Webber Q would be perfect!
CornCakesToppedwFlankSteak

1 tbsp olive oil

8 oz flank steak

1 tsp chili powder

salt and pepper

3/4 c flour

1/2 c cornmeal

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 c milk

1 large egg

1 c corn kernels

Sour cream

Fresh salsa

Avocado

Cilantro

Hot sauce

Lime wedges

Preparation:

1. Heat oil in skillet over medium-high heat. Season steak with chili powder and salt. Cook for approximately 3 minutes per side. Let the steak rest for 10 minutes.

2. In a bowl, mix the flour, cornmeal, baking powder, salt, and pepper. Make a well and add the milk, egg, and 1 tbsp oil. Mix together and then stir in the corn.

3. Heat oil in skillet over medium heat. Working in batches, drop batter into the skillet and cook until golden brown and cooked through.

4. Serve the corn cakes topped with steak, sour cream, salsa, avocado, cilantro, hot sauce, and lime wedges.

Cheers-

Suz

Leave a Reply

