Spicy Hoisin Steak with Cucumber-Fennel Salad

This is probably one of my favorite steak recipes ever. Plus, it’s so incredibly easy. I think I had dinner on the table in less than 20 minutes and what’s not to love about that? Plus, this makes for pretty tasty leftovers if you have the self control not to devour everything in sight. Not always easy in my house. The Cucumber-Fennel Salad was a perfect compliment to the spiciness of the Hoisin sauce. I’ve never done much with fennel but I’m determined to incorporate it into my life more. It’s just so light and fresh. With summer right around the corner I’ll be in the mood for such things. Along with anything and everything that doesn’t take too long to cook so I can spend the daylight hours hiking, running, learning to surf…you get the picture. Speaking of getting outdoors, it’s time to take the girls out.
SpicyHoisinSteakwCucumber-FennelSalad

2 tbsp hoisin sauce

1 tbsp sriracha

8 oz flank steak

1 cucumber

1 fennel bulb

1 tbsp rice vinegar

1/2 tsp sugar

1/4 c slivered almonds

Salt  and pepper

Preparation:

1. Heat cast iron skillet to medium-high. In a bowl, stir together the hoisin and sriracha. Brush steak with hoisin and cook for 2 to 3 minutes per side. Let rest for at least five minutes before slicing.

2. In a bowl, mix together cucumber, fennel, rice vinegar, sugar, and almonds. Add salt and pepper to taste. Serve with Savory Blackberry Salad or maybe some rice. I just happened to have a pint of blackberries in the house.

Leave a Reply

