Soba Noodles with Asian Flank Steak

Yep, another kitchen adventure involving steak. This was from a couple of weeks ago after I had bought a huge piece of flank steak at the store. I’ve been a little sidetracked lately and haven’t had a chance to post this bad boy. In all honesty, I have a few posts I’m behind on. I plan on catching up this week and next, I promise. Now, just because I didn’t immediately run to my laptop mid-fork doesn’t mean that this bowl of goodness was any less delicious. As it is, I’m currently swimming in citrus, pickles, and jalapenos to name a few. I’ll need to get busy on work my way through that loot first. In the meantime, if you have some steak in the fridge and you’re not sure what to do with it, here’s a quick recipe that you’ll return to again and again.SobaNoodleswAsianFlankSteak

Ingredients:

1/2 c rice vinegar

1/4 c honey

3 tbsp soy sauce

2 tbsp fresh grated ginger

2 tbsp black bean garlic sauce

8 oz flank steak

4 oz soba noodles

1 tbsp oil

1 thinly sliced bell pepper

1/4 c fresh cilantro

Preparation:

1. Mix vinegar, honey, soy sauce, ginger, and garlic sauce in a bowl. Pour half of the mixture into a bag and add the flank steak. Marinate for at least two hours or overnight.

2. Cook soba  noodles according to package directions. Drain and place in a large bowl. Add oil and remaining mixture and toss to coat.

3. Heat grill or cast iron pan to medium-high. Cook steak for approximately 8 minutes, turning once, until medium-rare or desired doneness (internal temperature shout be at least 145). Let steak rest for 10 minutes then slice it thinly. Toss with noodles and bell pepper. Garnish with cilantro.

Cheers-

Suz

Leave a Reply

