Mango Shrimp Salad

Mangoes might just be one of the best things to have ever happened. Growing up they reminded me of Pine trees. Yes, I know, that sounds totally weird but they have a slight piney-ness to them that reminds me of growing up in Northern California surrounded by Pine trees. Anyway, I love mangoes and have several phases of overdosing on them every years. Now, with this salad, I think I could overdose on mangoes every week. This might be my favorite salad yet! Plus, you can eat it alone or add shrimp, grilled chicken or pork, avocados, peaches, etc. This is a great base to experiment with. I’m in love!
MangoSalad

Ingredients:

1 ripe mango, peeled and diced

1 small red onion, dices

1/2 c cucumber, diced

1 small jalapeno, seeded and minced

2 tbls fresh lime juice

2 tbls fresh cilantro, chopped

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground pepper

1 lb shrimp, peeled or grilled

Preparation:

1. Combine first eight ingredients, mixing well. Cover and chill for at least 30 minutes.

2. Cook shrimp and serve either hot or chilled over the mango salad.

Cheers-

Susan

Leave a Reply

