Goat Cheese & Caramelized Onion Pizza

My favorite pizza place, Beach Pizza, is only a couple of miles from my place and their Buffalo Style Chicken pizza has been a favorite of mine since college. If I wasn’t getting ready for the long weekend I would go and pick one up right this second. It’s sooooo good. Mind you, it’s “sooooo” good because it’s not exactly waist-line friendly.

However, since my summer challenge is underway and making waist-line friendly choices is important, I decided to whip up this little piece of heaven. Now, I’m a fan of caramelized onions and goat cheese. And don’t even get me started on basil. I love basil and have a big pot full growing away on my patio. So why not put it all together on a pizza?

CarmelizedOnionandGoatCheesePizzaIngredients

2 tsp olive oil

2 c thinly sliced onions

1 pizza crust

3/4 c marinara sauce

1/4 c chopped sun-dried tomato halves

1 log (3 oz) goat cheese

chopped fresh basil

Preparation

Start preheating the oven to 450.

Next, heat olive oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat and add the onions. Cook, stirring frequently, for about 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.

Toss the pizza crust on a baking sheet. Mix the marinara sauce and sun-dried tomatoes together then spread on the crust. Top with onions and cheese and place in the oven for about 10 minutes until golden brown.

Top with chopped basil and slice it up.

Cheers-

Susan

 

Leave a Reply

