Devil’s Punchbowl

Sometimes the name alone is what draws me in to a hike. I mean, seriously, how can you not want to checkout something called Devil’s Punchbowl?

Yesterday, after Big Horn Mine, and finding a gas station in Wrightwood with a total sweetheart working there (I pretty much think anyone is awesome if they think my girls are cute, because they are cute, I’m not going to lie), we headed to Pearblossom to check out Devil’s Punchbowl. Let me just say that for a “bunch of rocks” they are pretty cool.

DevilsPunchbowl4

DevilsPunchbowl3

DevilsPunchbowl2

DevilsPunchbowl1

Devil’s Punchbowl County Park was opened in 1963 and consists of over 1,300 acres. The Punchbowl is a large canyon that was cut by the runoff from the San Gabriel mountains that rise 8,000 feet above. The Punchbowl itself sits 300 feet below the vista points in the park. The uptilted rock formations that are seen in the park, and which I was impressed by, are due to Punchbowl and Pinyon Faults and pressures along the San Andreas Fault, which we drove by on our way to the park and I will admit it was much larger than I expected. I also spotted what I thought was a young coyote but my hiking-partner-in-crime thought was a kit fox. Abby and Lexi didn’t spot it so I couldn’t ask them to break the stalemate.

We didn’t make it to Devil’s Chair but I’m thinking the next time I’m in the area, heaven only knows when that will be, I will need to stop and make the short hike out there. We did however leave in time to stop on the side of the deserted road and catch an epic sunset. One of the best sunsets I’ve seen in a long time.

Pearblossomsunset2

PearblossomSunset3

 

Leave a Reply

