Grilled Salmon with Tomatillo Salsa

GrilledSalmonwTomatilloSalsa

For Labor Day weekend, we went out to southern Utah to explore Zion and Bryce canyons and until yesterday I was still recovering. I have, however, just finished the last of the laundry. It’s so nice to have all clean gear and for everything to be back where it belongs, at least for the next few days. I am thinking I need a bit more of a strategic plan the next time I go out so that the recovery process doesn’t take two weekends. Granted I could have sucked up and got it done last weekend, but where’s the fun in that?

Before I left I made a couple batches of this uber fresh Salmon with Tomatillo Salsa. It might be one of the best things I’ve made lately and it’s so easy.

Ingredients

Salmon filet or two

6 Tomatillos, roasted and diced

1/2 of a Red Onion, diced

2 tbsp jalepenos, diced

1 tsp garlic, minced

1 tsp Olive Oil

1 tbsp White Wine Vinegar

Salt

Pepper

1/2 Lemon, juiced/squeezed

Preparation

Cook salmon, in my case I stuck it under the broiler (I little time on a grill would have been perfect), until just before done. It will cook through the rest of the way once removed. While broiling your salmon slide in a foil covered cookie sheet topped with freshly cleaned tomatillos. I removed the papery outside but if I were grilling outside I would have left them on and removed them after grilling. Once, nicely charred, dice them up and toss them in a bowl. Quickly dice up some red onion and toss that in. I left mine raw for the crunch. but you could potentially grill these if the mood strikes you. Dice up some jalepenos and mince some garlic. Mix those in along with a little olive oil, white wine vinegar, and squeeze of lemon. Salt and pepper to taste. Sample half the salsa just to make sure it’s okay. Finally, top salmon with tomatillo salsa and dig in.

Cheers-

Suz

One thought on “Grilled Salmon with Tomatillo Salsa

Leave a Reply

