Hoisin & Ginger Cod Topped with Mangos & Basil

On Saturday night, I had a date at Zengo in Santa Monica. Their website describes is as “an artful blend of Latin-Asian styles and flavors” and I have to say they did an excellent job. We tried a little bit of everything from Tiraditos to BBQ Pork Ribs to Duck Confit-Diakon Tacos to Thai Chicken Empanadas and more. We were even served their Chipolte Miso Glazed Black Cod by happy accident and it was great. I think the Empanadas were my favorite though and it has now inspired us to figure out how to make them. I’ve been on a whole try new things and learn new things kick lately and I doubt it will end anytime soon. For example, a couple weeks ago I attempted homemade pasta for the first time. It was a little chewy so I’m still working it out. Empanadas, thankfully, are now on the list.

After a very productive Sunday filled with cleaning of carpet, work on the dining room table, sanding of bedside tables, and several other things I took a peek into my fridge and it was looking a little empty so I decided that maybe the freezer would hold the answer to my dinner conundrum. Lucky for me I had a frozen cod filet tucked in there. Being the multi-tasker that I am I stuck the vacuum sealed bag in a bowl of water and took the girls for a walk. I checked out several different cod recipes on the Epicurious app and finally found inspiration in the Alaskan Black Cod with Hoisin and Ginger Sauces. Being a bit of a rebel when it comes to following recipes, I decided that I would use the same premise but mix it up a bit. This is what happened:

HoisenandGingerCodToppedwithMangoandBasil

 

Ingredients

1/4 c rice vinegar

1/4 c soy sauce

1 tbsp honey

2 tbsp hoisin

1 1/2 tbsp hot chili sauce

1/2 tbsp oil

1 tbsp fresh ginger, minced

Cod fillets

1 mango, cubed

1/2 lime

Basil

Preparation

In a bowl, mix first seven ingredients together and them pour into pan over medium high heat. Reduce the liquid for two to three minutes and then add the cod. Cover and let “steam” for two minutes then turn over and repeat for another two minutes. Transfer the cod to a plate and top with mango, basil and the juice from half a lime.

Cheers-

Susan

One thought on “Hoisin & Ginger Cod Topped with Mangos & Basil

Leave a Reply

