Oak Glen

oakglenlosrios

Apple picking seemed like a nice harmless way to spend a few hours on a Saturday. Boy were we wrong. It’s been over a week and I still have apples all over my kitchen!

So, where did we go, you ask? We went to a little town here in Southern California that’s refers to its self as the “premier apple growing area”, Oak Glen. It’s actually a quaint little place that reminded me, a little, of the small town I grew up in. After taking a drive through the town we thought we would check out Law’s Cider Mill and Ranch. I wish I could say it was quiet but in all honesty there were way more people there then I imagined. It felt like hundreds of other people had the same idea we did. There was a a Scottish group playing under some trees and all the tables were filled with people drinking apple cider and eating some sort of apple-inspired goodness. Cars were streaming in and out and people were wondering around everywhere. We didn’t stay long and instead pressed on to Los Rios Ranch where we could actually pick apples and not buy the pre-polished ones in a bag. Way more fun. Nothing like a little dirt to make me happy.

We parked under the shade of an apple tree, of course, and headed out to pick up a few apples. Little did I know at the time that we would come back with close to 50 lbs between the two of us. Half of which were Granny Smiths and the other half were a much sweeter Red Rome variety, I think. Yum!

What in the world do you do with that many apples? So far, I’ve made apple sauce, apple butter, two apple pies, and some banana bread in which I used some of the apple sauce. Up next, I’m thinking of slicing some up and placing them in the dehydrator (there’s a little camping trip coming up that they would be perfect for), apple ravioli, an apple and spinach salad or sorts, a grilled apple, ham, and cheese sandwich (or a dozen), and anything else I can think of. If you have any suggestions, please let me know.

redromeapples

 

losrioscratesbw

 

Cheers-

Susan

One thought on “Oak Glen

Leave a Reply

