Lizard Rock

It’s been a few weeks since my last hike and, in all honesty, I was feeling a little stir crazy. We needed to get out and tackle a few sunshine filled miles. So, on Sunday morning we did just that. Our destination was a place called Lizard Rock in Wildwood Park in Thousand Oaks. Is it just me or is there rather a lot of open space in Thousand Oaks? I’ve always just thought of it as suburbs but every time I go I realize that’s not exactly the case.

Lizard Rock is a rocky outcropping that offers views of Paradise Falls, which I thought would have been completely dry at this time of year given the lack of rain we’ve had all year (but I was wrong), the Santa Monica Mountains, Stage Coach Bluff, and farm filled valleys. Oh, and I almost forgot to mention, there are also have views of a water treatment facility and a decent amount of suburbs.
DSC03771

DSC03772

Several months ago I had read a blog post about catching a sunrise atop Lizard Rock and I have to say I think they were onto something. The trail is easy to manage and would make for a nice pre-dawn hike. Hopefully, we get a little more rain like we had yesterday and the “golden hills” of California will green up a bit. I’m fairly certain the views would improve and a trip to Paradise Falls would be in order.

DSC03773

DSC03775

DSC03779

DSC03780

All in the hike was about 3.2 miles and pretty flat. There was a decent incline up to the top of Lizard Rock, which from a distance looks little more like a Guinea Pig than a Lizard, that’s maybe 500 feet or so. There are trails all over the area so you can make your adventure as long, or as short, as you would like.

Directions:

Coming from LA, head west on the 101 and exit 45 (Lynn Road) in Thousand Oaks. Drive 2.5 miles on Lynn Road and then turn left onto Avenido de los Arboles. Park in the lot at the end of the street.

Cheers-

Suz

 

One thought on “Lizard Rock

Leave a Reply

