Chocolate Coconut Mousse

Chocolate Coconut Mousse - Cheers Susan

Chocolate Coconut Mousse – Cheers Susan

I’ve been trying to be really good lately when it comes to all the food I eat. And let me just say for the record, I love food and think about it all the time. Probably more than I should. Actually, definitely more than I should, but man alive it’s just so much fun and sooooo good. Since it’s summer, and I’m avoiding turning on my oven to save my life, it’s been veg heaven around here for the last couple of weeks. The other night though I felt I needed a little something special. I rummaged around in the fridge and found a can of coconut cream. I had been saving it for a curry I was thinking of making but that would require heat and, let’s be honest, when it’d 90 with 90% humidity, the last thing you want to do is turn on the oven, or the stove top for that matter. I decided that I’d use it to make some mousse…Chocolate Mousse. It was the best decision I made all week!

It’s crazy simple and super fast. Ready?

Ingredients

1 can refrigerated coconut cream (I always keep a can or two in the fridge it comes in so handy)

1/4 c cocoa powder

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

2 tbsp +/- powdered sugar, stevia, coconut sugar, etc. – basically any sweetener you’d like and sweeten to your liking

Preparation

Open that can of coconut cream and scoop out the solid coconut part leaving the watery part at the bottom for some other culinary adventure. Place it, along with the cocoa powder, vanilla extract and powdered sugar in a big bowl. Give it a stir. You’ll want everything to kind of be incorporated before turning on your hand held mixer. You could also do this in a Kitchen Aid mixer if that floats your boat. But, the reason you want to give this a stir first is so that when you do turn on the mixer, all of the cocoa powder and powdered sugar doesn’t go ‘poof!” all over your kitchen. You’d have a nice mess on your hands to clean up.

Anyway, mix away until you get the thick rich consistency you want. You are then free to scoop, pipe, or transfer it, by any other means you deem appropriate, to a bowl, glass, container, your mouth. I won’t judge!

Cheers-

Susan

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Coconut Mousse

Leave a Reply

