General Tso’s Turkey Meatballs

General Tso's Turkey Meatballs - Cheers Susan

General Tso’s Turkey Meatballs – Cheers Susan

I have a confession to make. It’s kind of a big one. I don’t know if you can handle it. I have an addiction. I know it’s rather shocking. But, it’s not a bad addiction. I least I don’t think so. You see, there’s this Chinese Restaurant in my home town in Northern California called Asian Gardens It’s a place I haven’t been to in almost three years but I’m seriously craving their General Tso’s Chicken. It’s my favorite Chinese dish of all time. It’s a problem. It’s my Kryptonite. It’s soooooo good. It’s the only thing I ever order when I’m in town. If only I could get my hands on it right now!!!

So, in an attempt to semi-recreate it. You have the following. It’s not the same but I kind of think it’s probably way better for you then what you get in a restaurant and it’s seriously tasty.

Ingredients

Meatballs

1 lb ground turkey

1 egg

1/4 c almond flour

2 tbsp minced ginger

2 garlic cloves, minced

Sauce

3 tbsp rice wine vinegar

3 tbsp soy sauce

3 tbsp honey

1/2 tsp sesame oil

1/2 tsp xanthan gum

4 small super spicy dried chilies, minced

1/2 c water

Preparation

Grab a nice medium sized bowl and combine all of the meatball ingredients. Then in a large non stick frying pan heat a little oil and then take a small handful of the ground turkey goodness and roll it into a ball. You should be able to get about two dozen meatballs. Working in batches cook the meatballs. Make sure to turn them regularly to brown them on all sides and cook them through thoroughly.

For the sauce, add all of the ingredients together in a bowl and whisk until blended. In a small sauce pan, bring the sauce to a boil and then simmer for about five minutes until thickened. Remove from heat.

Grab a big bowl and toss the meatballs and sauce together. Coat thoroughly and plate. Garnish with more chilies if you need a little extra spice in your life. I don’t know about you, but I could always use a little extra spice. 😉

I have a favor to ask of you guys. Does anyone know of any amazing places I could score some General Tso’s Chicken? Or does anyone have any recipes that they’d like to share?

If you’re ever find yourself in the small town of Grass Valley, CA, then stop by Asian Gardens. They’re located at 2074 Nevada City Hwy., Grass Valley, CA 95945. You can also call for reservations which I would suggest if it’s a Friday or Saturday night. Their number is 530.273.0666. I still have the number programmed in the phone. I’ll be ready the next time I’m in the area. Might even grab some to go and drive down to the Yuba River for a picnic on the granite boulders.

Now, please excuse me while I go lick the bowl!

Cheers-

Susan

Leave a Reply

