Peach & Red Plum Chutney Crostini

Peach and Plum Chutney Crostini - Cheers Susan

Peach and Plum Chutney Crostini – Cheers Susan

Am I the only one who has an obsession with peaches? They are so good. They’re right up there near the top of my list. I’m not sure they beat out Mangoes but they are a great contender for second place. It’s between peaches and apricots. It’s a very heated debate in my heart, stomach, and soul, let me tell you. The victor has not yet been decided. They’re still duking it out. If there’s ever a clear winner I will let you know. After all, the fate of nations hang in the balance, right? Yeah, that’s what I thought.

Anyway, let’s continue with the its-too-hot-to-cook theme and tackle yet another creation. This time chutney. Now, you see, I chutney and I don’t exactly have a love affair. I think it all started when I was a kid and my pallet was to be developed. I had no clue what this “chutney” stuff was and I didn’t exactly grow up in a thriving metropolis filled with Indian restaurants. Today, I think there might only one small Indian restaurant serving the populous of Grass Valley.

So, you see, I didn’t really understanding it. Thus, I didn’t know how to appreciate it. The spices just threw me for a loop. Plus, I was a finicky child. I don’t know how my mom put up with me. Times have changed though and I seem to have changed too. Thankfully!!!

Peach and Plum Chutney Crostini - Cheers Susan

Peach and Plum Chutney Crostini – Cheers Susan

Ingredients

1 baguette, sliced 1/2″ thick

Butter

2 tbsp olive oil

1 large peach, pitted and sliced

3 small red plums, pitted and sliced

1/2 small shallot, minced

1 tbsp brown sugar

1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp cinnamon

Mozzarella

Preparation

In a large non-stick skillet, warm the olive oil and toss in the peach and red plums, assuming you haven’t eaten all of them. Stir in shallots, brown sugar, vinegar, salt, and cinnamon. Simmer over medium heat for about 7-10 minutes, all the while inhaling deeply, until nicely combined and syrup-y but not mushy.

Butter your baguette slices and place them in another skillet to toast. Once toasted, spread them with Ricotta and spoon the peach and red plum chutney over the tops. That’s it! Dig in!

Cheers-

Susan

Leave a Reply

