Warning: Spiders Contained Within

Spider - Cheers Susan

Spider – Cheers Susan

I have a big fear of spiders. Actually, that’s not quite accurate. I have a HUGE fear of spiders. I even have a crazy lady freak out dance with high pitched girly screaming and vomiting, or at least possible retching, involved.  Trust me, when I say, you do not want to be an innocent witness. Especially, not on the empty roads of Arizona. Especially, not ones the size of a mid-size family car, like this dude!

Spider - Cheers Susan

Spider – Cheers Susan

That’s exactly what happened a couple weeks back when we were on our way to Valley of the Gods. I was driving along, minding my own business, when I spot a tarantula crossing the road. You might think that that would be the end of the story or that it would end in me wrecking the car, or at the very least, it would be the end of the road trip all together. Trust me, there was a moment in which I thought, where’s the blow torch, this place is infested with the creepy buggers and they all have to die or I’m moving to Antarctica. Then I remembered watching The Thing and I opt against the moving to Antarctica. The car was also lacking in a handy dandy blow torch so I decided that the next and only logical step after managing not to run over the little guy, was to stop in the middle of the deserted highway, make a five pointed turn and go back for pictures. Mind you, these pictures were taken with a long range lens I borrowed. There was no way in hell that I as getting closer than 100 yards!

Spider - Cheers Susan

Spider – Cheers Susan

A car slowed down and crept by us at one point and asked if everything was alright. We told them there was a tarantula on the road and the next thing you know, they’ve pulled off the road to join us in taking pictures. When asked, how in the world did you possibly see this while driving along at 50 mph. I could easily reply that when it comes to spiders I can see the damn things from a mile away. It’s like I have creepy spider sense. Also, I have better than perfect vision (the optometrist told me so!).

Anyway, after about half an hour we watched this guy finish crossing the road in his search for a mate and then jumped back in the car to head on to our next adventure.

Spider - Cheers Susan

Spider – Cheers Susan

What’s the creepiest animal you’ve come across in your travels? Also, who else has a fear of spiders? Or any other creature for that matter?

Cheers-
Susan

Leave a Reply

