All Together Now

WA Road Trip Gig Harbor 7
Ah family reunions. It’s been quiet a few years since I’ve been to a family reunion.  But this year I manned up and got myself together for the Donald family reunion in Gig Harbor, Washington. The sun was shining, the skies were crystal clear so you could see the mountains in the distance, and the flowers were blooming. Oh, hydrangeas how I love you and oh, how I love the Donald’s! How can you not just love such happy smiley people!

WA Road Trip Gig Harbor 13

WA Road Trip Gig Harbor 10

WA Road Trip Gig Harbor 11

WA Road Trip Gig Harbor 9

WA Road Trip Gig Harbor 1

WA Road Trip Gig Harbor 12

Then there’s the location. Oh, how I love the PNW in the summer. It’s so so so so so lovely! It’s the winter’s that are really rough on me. I live in Seattle for a little bit right after I graduated college. Unfortunately, it didn’t work out. But that hasn’t stopped me from dreaming about Portland. Hehehe!

WA Road Trip Gig Harbor 5

WA Road Trip Gig Harbor 4

WA Road Trip Gig Harbor 3

WA Road Trip Gig Harbor 2

I spent the day catching up with people that I haven’t seen in years and getting to know people that I had only heard about but hadn’t met because they live in Germany for most of the year, or are now in college in the UK, or that I just hadn’t met for other reasons. There was time spent along the beach picking up shells and playing in the unbelievably glassy water of the sound. And more time spent hanging out on the back deck eating and learning about how Grandma Ducky was given the nickname Ducky. Which after 90 years she thinks people should stop calling her. Hahahaha! Like that’s going to happen! (She got her nickname shortly after she was born. The nurse handed her over to her parents by saying “Here’s your little Ducky!”) Then after all the clams were eaten and all the clam juice (yuck!) was drunk, we moved onto more important and much more competitive things like Cherry Seed Spitting Contests.

WA Road Trip Gig Harbor 15

WA Road Trip Gig Harbor 16

WA Road Trip Gig Harbor 17

I totally failed at the whole Cheery Seed Spitting Contest. Obviously, I need to start practicing for next year! Haha!

So, how do you recover from all that competition? With ice cream sandwiches of course. It makes everyone happy!!!

WA Road Trip Gig Harbor 20

WA Road Trip Gig Harbor 18

WA Road Trip Gig Harbor 10

I’m really looking forward to the next family road trip! Am I the only one who can say that? If so, then I have the best family in the world. Talk about being incredibly blessed!

WA Road Trip Gig Harbor 6

Cheers –

Susan

 

Leave a Reply

