Persimmon Lemon Bars

Persimmon Lemon Bars 1 | CheersSusan.com

There’s a theme going on this week. Persimmons all day every day!!!

What can I say. I’m practically drowning in them and they’ve been going in just about everything from kefir to cookies to lemon bars. I love lemon bars in general but these are quite special. They’re more mild then their cousins and don’t require as much sugar but are still sweet. It’s all that natural sugar in the persimmons. Oh, and the color on these little cuties is so much better then just regular ol’ lemon bars. These are nice and orange and it’s not because I added any food dye. The persimmons sort of mix things up. In a good way that is!

Persimmon Lemon Bars 2 | CheersSusan.com

Ingredients

For Crust

  • 2 sticks of butter
  • 1/3 c sugar
  • 2 c gluten free flour
  • 1/8 tsp salt

For Filling

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/2 c sugar
  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • 2/3 c persimmon pulp
  • 2/3 c lemon juice
  • 2/3 c gluten free flour

Preparation

Get the oven preheating to 350.

In a large bowl cream butter and sugar together then slowly add flour and salt until you have a dough like mixture. Press this mixture into a greased 9 x 13 pan. Place this in the oven and back for about 15-20 minutes until it’s just starting to get a bit of color.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs, sugar, lemon zest, persimmon pulp, and lemon juice. Once that’s all nicely blended whisk in the flour until smooth. Pour filling over crust and bake for 20-25 minutes or until filling is set but still kind of wiggly. Let cool and then serve by sprinkling a little powdered sugar.

Persimmon Lemon Bars 3 | CheersSusan.com

Does anyone have any delicious recipes that call for persimmons?

Cheers-

Susan

3 thoughts on “Persimmon Lemon Bars

  1. Wonderful idea to use persimmons instead of lemon here – love the pop of orange colour. I’m intrigued by your comment that you are putting persimmon in kefir. Do you mean water or milk kefir? I’ve just started making water kefir and am looking out for new flavouring ideas.

    • Thank you so much!!! I’m doing milk kefir. Some friends of mine up in Brookings, OR gave me my first grains. The possibilities are endless. I just used some in a coffee cake I made the other day. Normally, I would use sour cream but there wasn’t any in the fridge and I didn’t feel like going to the grocery store so I improvised. It totally worked too. Thanks again and have a great day!!!

      • I think I need to track down some milk kefir grains. We go through so much yoghurt at home that I’m sure if would be cheaper to make kefir (and healthier than supermarket yoghurt too). Good to know that it works well in baking!

Leave a Reply

