Lifelong Friendships

IMG_2731

Death Valley, CA – photo by @photodatura

On a cold morning a couple of weeks ago in December I met up with a friend of mine that I’ve known for 18 years. Yes, you read that right, 18 years! That almost makes me sound like I’m really old or something. I don’t feel that old though. And, if I think about it, I’m not. Granted I do finally feel a little more like my age though.

I’ve spent the last 18 years always feeling older than I am. It might have to do with the fact that I grew up fast and the fact that I’m one of the crazy people who’s uber responsible. While some people might feel sorry for me, I wouldn’t change a thing. I wouldn’t be the person I am today and I would not have been able to help all of the people I have been able to.

Life has a funny way of working out.

But as we sat there in a coffee shop in Nevada City, California, all these years later, I couldn’t help but come to appreciate that there are some friendships in which life cannot get in the way of. It is these friendships that stand the test of time. The ones in which your soul recognizes a counterpoint in another. You may not always see eye to eye on things but at the end of the day you still value and respect the other for who they are and where they are.

We all walk on our own paths and these paths are, at times, very different than those around us. For much of my life, I have been walking on a path that sometimes feels more like a long and winding path in the woods then anything resembling the straight and narrow even if I am “the responsible one.”

On that December morning, I was reminded not only of who my friend was but I also saw a reflection of myself. I saw me. Not just part of me, or the projection of another person’s impression of me, but me. The person I’ve always been. My essential self.

We talked about a million and half things, our lives, families, careers, goals, aspirations, passions, and adventures. When we had finally finished our coffee and headed out we had the beginnings of an accountability plan and, at least for me, a renewed mission to do a better job at keeping in touch with people.

They remind you of who you are, your path, your mission, and what you’re capable of. They also remind you to never settle and to keep chasing your dreams. To look to the future and to dream big.

Our coffee date could not have come at a better time. It helped to set both of us up for an epic 2016. I cannot wait to share this journey with all of you guys and with everyone else who I have yet to meet.

Happy Friday!

CheersSusan-signature

#chasingepic

Leave a Reply

