Remembering

IMG_8768This evening I was reminded of the humanity that surrounds all of us and for which we fail, at times, to truly appreciate. While Lexi and I were out for our walk, a neighbor of mine, stopped to chat with us. He asked how Lexi was doing since the loss of Abby about a year ago. It took me totally by surprise as I had no idea he remembered. That single question alone brought tears to my eyes and sent me home on a bit of a renewed mission. It’s time for a yard!

So, as I work my butt off to get that yard, I will also remember that Abby, like everyone we have ever loved, will always always be with us. They never truly leave us for they have left an imprint on our heart and soul. Not long after Abby’s passing, I received the following poem and I thought I would share with you guys this evening. May you hold those dear to you a little tighter and remember to tell them that you love them, lots and lots.

I’m Still Here 

Friend, please don’t mourn for me

I’m still here, though you don’t see.

I’m right by your side each night and day

and within your heart I long to stay.

My body is gone but I’m always near.

I’m everything you feel, see, or hear.

My spirit if free, but I’ll never depart

as long as you keep me alive in your heart.

I’ll never wander out of your sight-

I’m the brightest star on a summer night

I’ll never be beyond your reach-

I’m the moist sand when you’re at the beach.

I’m the colorful leaves when fall comes around

and the pure white snow that blankets the ground.

I’m the beautiful flowers of which you’re so fond,

the clear cool water in a quiet pond.

I’m the first bright blossom you’ll see in the spring,

the first warm raindrop that April will ring.

I’m the first ray of light when the sun starts to shine,

and you’ll see that the face in the moon is mine.

When you start thinking there’s no one to love you,

you can talk to me through the Lord above you.

I’ll whisper my answer through the leaves on the trees,

and you’ll feel my presence in the soft summer breeze.

I’m the hot salty tears that flow when you weep

and the beautiful dreams the come while you sleep.

I’m the smile you see on a baby’s face.

Just look for me, friend, I’m everyplace.

-Author Unknown

CheersSusan-signature

Leave a Reply

