Bacon & Avocado Bites or Bacon & Guacamole Bites

Bacon & Avocado Bites 1 | CheersSusan.com

Okay, so sometimes when it comes to getting wild and crazy in the kitchen, I just can’t. I take the easy way out. What can I say, sometimes other things sort of get in the way. And by other things I mean trying to implement the crazy teachings of Marie Kondo. Okay, their not exactly crazy but boy are they more time consuming than I thought.

For those of you who don’t know Marie Kondo is the author of The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up. I’ll work up a post about it so that you guys can follow along. Anyway, I started tackling the “paper” portion this weekend and discovered I’m a total recipe hoarder. Heaven help me it’s a bigger problem than I thought. I’ll tell you guys all about it later this week.

Bacon & Avocado Bites 2 | CheersSusan.com

For now though, let instead talk about bacon and avocados. Yes, the things that make the world go ’round and that are far more interesting than my hoarding issues. Haha! Plus, these are so quick to make that it’s almost like instant gratification and who doesn’t love a little instant gratification every now and then.

Bacon & Avocado Bites 3 | CheersSusan.com.jpg

Ingredients

8 slices of bacon (I used turkey bacon)

1 small avocado

1/2 lime, juiced

1/4 small onion, finely diced

1 small garlic clove, minced

Salt & Pepper to taste

Preparation

Grab a large skillet and cook your bacon until crispy. I don’t always want bacon crispy but for this it helps to have some crispness to hold the little bites together.

Next, you’ll slice into avocado, remove the pit, and scoop out all the goodness into a bowl. Take half of a lime and squeeze it over the avocado. This will help prevent it from turning brown and funky looking. I don’t know about you but brown avocado just doesn’t look appealing to me. Then add your finely diced onion and your minced garlic. Mush it all together with the back of a spoon. You’ll season, to taste, with a little salt and pepper.

It’s a super basic guacamole recipe. If it happens to be summer and you have some lovely vine ripened tomatoes on hand then I would encourage you to add those too. But seeing as it’s January and the tomatoes at the market are just totally tasteless I skipped them.

Once your bacon is done cooking you’ll want to cool just a little so that you can handle it. I’m not a fan of getting burned. Ouch! Slice your bacon in half and then in sections. You’ll want these to be bite sized. Not too big, not to small.

Grab a small spoon and then scoop a bit of the avocado/guacamole into one of the slices of bacon. Top with another slice and you’re done!

Bacon & Avocado Bites 4 | CheersSusan.com.jpg

How easy is that? I’ve had these for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. They’re always a good idea. Trust me, you won’t want to share!

CheersSusan-signature

Leave a Reply

