Steak Salad with Horseradish Dressing

Steak Salad With Horseradish Dressing 1 | CheersSusan.com

You wouldn’t know it now, but growing up I was a totally picky eater. I don’t know how my family put up with me. Thankfully, those days are behind me and I’ve become a much more adventurous eater. I’m apt to try things at least once. Even things that I previously didn’t like I’ve tried again and now am obsessed with. Case in point, horseradish.

I love, love, love horseradish now. It’s really strong stuff and can be over powering but man alive is it good. I’ve been known to go through a jar or two a month these days. I use it in a variety of things from egg salad and deviled eggs to making salad dressings. Don’t worry though, this will not become a blog about horseradish, even though it’s amazing stuff. Since I feel that way about a lot of things like, mangoes, ribs, chia pudding, avocados, caprese salads, DIY projects, running, cuddles, and more, I don’t think I’ll annoy anyone with my moderate horseradish obsession. I could be wrong… Nah, after this, there’s no way I could be wrong about a little horseradish. Haha!

Steak Salad With Horseradish Dressing 3 | CheersSusan.com

Ingredients

Steak Salad

1 tbsp butter

1/2 lb flank or skirt steak

Salt & pepper

Salad greens

Radishes, thinly sliced

Horseradish Dressing

1/4 c sour cream

1 1/2 tbsp prepared horseradish

1/2 tsp honey

1/2 red wine vinegar

Salt & pepper, to taste

Preparation

Melt butter in a medium or large skillet over high heat. Pat steak dry with a couple of paper towels. This will allow the steak to get a nice brownness to it. Season it with salt and pepper on both sides. Place the meat in the skillet and then cook until desired doneness. If you’re going for say a medium rare on a piece of flank or skirt steak then you’re looking at about 3-4 minutes per side. Once it’s done, transfer it to a plate so that it can rest for 10 minutes.

While the steak is resting make up the horseradish dressing. Grab a bowl and whisk together the sour cream, horseradish, honey, and vinegar. Season with salt and pepper.

Now, it’s time to plate up. Add your salad greens topped with some radishes to plate(s) and then top with slices of steak. Finally, spoon over the dressing and serve.

Dig in!!!

Steak Salad With Horseradish Dressing 4 | CheersSusan.com

Since I’m interested in all things food I did some research into the history and health benefits of horseradish. You can check it out here.

Steak Salad With Horseradish Dressing 5 | CheersSusan.com

CheersSusan-signature

 

One thought on “Steak Salad with Horseradish Dressing

  1. Pingback: Horseradish | Cheers, Susan

Leave a Reply

